Regulated Qualification
Study an iCQ Awards qualification with an exact Ofqual record and clear unit requirements.
Study the Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development with HHF Training. Build confidence in facilitating group learning, preparing useful resources and helping learners make progress in a real work environment.
Awarded by iCQ Awards, this practical qualification combines online study with authentic workplace evidence. HHF’s five-unit route totals 30 credits and 130 guided learning hours. You need access to real learners and suitable group training activities before enrolling.
The Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development supports practitioners who train colleagues, facilitate learning or help people develop skills at work. It connects learning theory with the everyday decisions you make when supporting real learners.
Consider a workplace trainer preparing an induction: the task involves understanding the group, choosing accessible materials, explaining a process and checking whether colleagues can apply it. This course gives you a structured way to examine those decisions and improve your approach.
HHF offers a group-facilitation route with five units. Your portfolio should show what you actually do in your training role, alongside the knowledge behind your choices. Online study can fit around your responsibilities, but you still need suitable workplace opportunities.
Explore our Education and Training courses or contact HHF to discuss whether your current role provides the evidence this qualification needs.
This route suits people who already have, or can arrange, a genuine learning and development role with access to group training.
You might train employees, volunteers or learners in a suitable professional setting. The key question is whether your responsibilities allow you to produce authentic evidence across the selected units. Ask HHF to review your proposed setting before you pay if you are unsure.
Through study and practical activities, you will develop a more deliberate approach to workplace training:
For example, after an induction session, you could review whether the materials were usable, whether everyone participated and what you would change next time. Your assessor will help you connect evidence from your own role with the relevant assessment criteria.
| Unit Reference | Unit Title and Route | Credits / GLH |
|---|---|---|
| J/502/9552 | Reflect on and improve own practice in learning and development (mandatory, Level 4) | 6 credits / 25 GLH |
| Y/502/9541 | Understand the principles and practices of learning and development (mandatory, Level 3) | 6 credits / 25 GLH |
| F/502/9548 | Facilitate learning and development in groups (selected optional, Level 3) | 6 credits / 25 GLH |
| A/502/9547 | Develop and prepare resources for learning and development (selected optional, Level 4) | 6 credits / 25 GLH |
| F/502/9551 | Engage learners in the learning and development process (selected optional, Level 3) | 6 credits / 30 GLH |
HHF route: five units, 30 credits and 130 GLH. The two mandatory units contribute 12 credits; the selected optional units contribute 18. The group-facilitation unit meets the requirement for at least 6 credits from group OB.
The Ofqual record lists 300 hours total qualification time (TQT) and 120 GLH. iCQ’s specification gives a GLH range of 120–171 depending on the combination; HHF’s five selected units sum to 130 GLH. TQT includes guided and independent learning and assessment; it is not a fixed placement-hours requirement or calendar duration.
Review the official iCQ qualification specification for the full optional-unit structure.
HHF’s existing entry requirement is age 18 or over, with English reading and writing skills suitable for the course and portfolio. You also need a role or agreed arrangement that gives you access to real learners and group learning activities in a work environment.
Before enrolling, discuss these practical points with HHF:
A suitable setting should let you demonstrate practice across all selected units. If you are between roles or only provide one-to-one support, speak with HHF before enrolling so your proposed route can be checked.
The Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development is assessed through a portfolio and practical evidence. You must work with real learners in a work environment. Simulation, role-play, projects or written assignments cannot replace the specified occupational-performance outcomes.
For HHF’s route, iCQ requires workplace performance for reflection outcomes 2–3, group facilitation outcomes 2–4, resource development outcome 2 and learner engagement outcomes 3–4. Knowledge evidence is also required.
Agree an assessment plan with your assessor before gathering evidence. Discuss suitable group sessions, assessor observation of your practice, organisational permissions and how evidence will cover the criteria. Any proposed recording or remote arrangement must be approved in advance and follow iCQ guidance.
The public specification does not state a fixed number of learners, observations or placement hours for this route. Your assessor must confirm the required coverage and arrangements using current iCQ assessment guidance. Do not assume a brief micro-teaching exercise will satisfy the workplace outcomes.
Evidence must be your own, relevant and sufficient. Use anonymised learner documents and your organisation’s consent and secure-handling procedures. Keep a simple evidence index so your assessor can locate each item. Written work alone is insufficient for the practical outcomes.
Study the Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development online while building evidence through your training role. Course theory, written work and portfolio preparation can be organised around work and personal commitments. Practical assessment still depends on access to a suitable work environment and real learners.
HHF’s advertised completion window is one to six months from the payment date, with the option to finish earlier when you meet all requirements. Your progress will depend on study time, suitable training opportunities and the assessment and quality-assurance process.
HHF provides ongoing email support, normally responding within 24 hours, plus Google Meet and WhatsApp support during office hours: 9 am–6 pm, Monday to Saturday.
Plan evidence gathering early. A useful approach is to identify forthcoming group sessions, agree what can be observed and set aside time after each session for feedback and reflection. Tell your assessor promptly if your role or access to learners changes.
The current fee for the Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development is shown in the live WooCommerce fee card. Ask HHF about available instalment options and confirm the practical assessment arrangements for your setting before enrolling.
Before payment, check that the group-facilitation route fits your responsibilities and that you can access real learners. If your employer needs to approve assessor access, organise that discussion early.
For fee questions, payment options or a suitability check, contact the HHF team. Keep your enrolment information and agreed assessment plan together so you can refer to them throughout the course.
Successful learners achieve the iCQ Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development (RQF), qualification number 601/4257/1, awarded by iCQ Awards (I-CAN Qualifications Limited). The qualification is graded Pass.
Use the verification card to check the exact Ofqual record, and consult the iCQ teaching and lecturing qualification list. Certification follows successful assessment and the required quality-assurance process.
HHF advertises free posting of printed certificates to UK addresses. International learners pay courier charges plus the advertised 15% service and bank transaction fee before dispatch. Confirm delivery arrangements with HHF if your certificate will be sent overseas.

HHF combines flexible study with support for building an authentic portfolio. Discuss your training role at the start, gather useful evidence as you work and use assessor feedback to improve your submissions.
The Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development offers a practical focus for people supporting workplace learners. Clear unit information and an agreed assessment plan help you organise your study around the opportunities available in your own setting.
Study an iCQ Awards qualification with an exact Ofqual record and clear unit requirements.
Receive guidance with course content, assignment preparation and teaching evidence throughout your study.
Combine online learning with practical teaching and agree a realistic assessment schedule with HHF.
The Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development can support development in workplace training and learning-facilitation roles. Use your completed portfolio to explain your experience, the people you supported and the improvements you made to your own practice.
If your next goal is a teaching qualification, compare HHF’s Level 3 Award in Education and Training, Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training and Level 5 Diploma in Teaching. Each route has its own entry and practical requirements.
iCQ also lists a Level 4 Diploma in Learning and Development. Availability, entry and any recognition of prior learning must be confirmed with the receiving provider. If you want to become a vocational assessor, explore our assessment and quality assurance courses and check their specific evidence requirements.
Check your intended progression route: this certificate does not itself confer QTS or QTLS, guarantee a job or automatically qualify you for every assessment role. Confirm the current requirements of your employer, professional body or next course before enrolling.
Yes. HHF’s route leads to the iCQ qualification numbered 601/4257/1. The exact Ofqual record identifies iCan Qualifications Limited as the awarding organisation. Use the verification card above to check the record.
HHF’s advertised route includes two mandatory and three selected optional units: five units, 30 credits and 130 GLH. Other iCQ combinations exist, so discuss any proposed change with HHF before enrolling.
Yes. You need suitable work-environment opportunities for the practical outcomes, including genuine group learning activities. Ask HHF to confirm that your role and learner access are suitable before payment.
No. The specified occupational-performance outcomes in HHF’s selected practical units require workplace performance. Simulation, projects or assignments cannot replace that evidence. Agree assessor observation and evidence arrangements in advance.
You can study theory and prepare your portfolio online. You must also produce authentic evidence from workplace practice with real learners. Online delivery does not remove the practical requirements.
The public iCQ specification does not state a fixed learner count, observation count or placement-hours minimum for this route. Your assessor will confirm sufficient coverage and practical arrangements using current assessment guidance.
The current HHF fee is shown in the live fee card. The advertised completion window is one to six months from payment. Completion depends on study, suitable workplace evidence, assessment and quality assurance.
It does not itself award QTS or QTLS, or automatically qualify you for every vocational assessment role. HHF’s advertised five-unit route does not include the practical assessor units. Check your intended next course or employer’s requirements.
Develop your workplace training practice with the Level 3 Certificate in Learning and Development. Study online with tutor support and build a portfolio from genuine learning activities. Confirm your workplace access and practical assessment arrangements with HHF before enrolling.